How is the City of Philadelphia Government structured?

The legislators that represent Philadelphia are part of the Philadelphia City Council. These people report directly to the Mayor. They can be from any political party, and are elected for four-year terms.

Philadelphia City Council is made up of seventeen members total. The city is divided into ten Districts, with one City Council Member representing each District. There are also seven At-Large Council Members, each elected by a citywide vote. No political party may hold all seven At-Large seats. The City Council drafts and enacts legislation that adds to or amends the City Code. Additionally the City Council plays a crucial role in shaping the city budget. The Mayor presents the draft budget to City Council for review and amendments by holding hearings and accepting public comment.